COVID-19 Litigation Update: Contractual Defenses

|

COVID-19 Litigation Update: Contractual Defenses
MCLE Credit Information:

Select Your State Below to View CLE Credit Information

Can't Decide Which CLE Progam?

Access All
myLawCLE Programs
Only $245yr

Annual Subscription includes access to:
  • 500+ Live CLE Webinars
  • National Hot Legal Topics
  • New Laws and Regulations
  • State Specific Programs
  • All Formats: Live, Replay, & On-Demand
Subscribe Today
Training 5 or more people?

Sign-up for a law firm subscription plan and each attorney in the firm receives free access to all CLE Programs

Program Summary

This program, presented by Ice Miller LLP attorneys Drew Miroff, Christina Fugate, and Audrey Howard, will discuss recent developments and case law specific to the enforceability of force majeure clauses and other contractual provisions to excuse performance impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as other contract defenses such as impossibility, impracticability, and frustration of purpose. This program will highlight recent examples from courts located throughout the county and will further consider how these case developments could impact force majeure language in new contracts going forward.

This course is co-sponsored with myLawCLE.

Key topics to be discussed:

• Overview of force majeure; common law defenses of impossibility, impracticability, and frustration of purposes.
• Discussion of recent case law addressing the applicability of force majeure clauses and other contract defenses in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.
• Practical contractual considerations for clients and businesses amid the second wave of the pandemic.

Date / Time: December 9, 2020

•   1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Eastern
•   12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Central
•   11:00 am - 12:00 pm Mountain
•   10:00 am - 11:00 am Pacific

Choose a format:

•   Live Video Broadcast/Re-Broadcast: Watch Program "live" in real-time, must sign-in and watch program on date and time set above. May ask questions during presentation via chat box. Qualifies for "live" CLE credit.
•   On-Demand Video: Access CLE 24/7 via on-demand library and watch program anytime. Qualifies for self-study CLE credit. On-demand versions are made available 5 business days after the original recording date and are view-able for up to one year. 
Closed-captioning available upon request

Speakers

Agenda