The Fraud Injunction Statute: DOJ’s Tool for Fighting COVID-19 Fraud

|

The Fraud Injunction Statute: DOJ’s Tool for Fighting COVID-19 Fraud
MCLE Credit Information:

Select Your State Below to View CLE Credit Information

Can't Decide Which CLE Progam?

Access All
myLawCLE Programs
Only $245yr

Annual Subscription includes access to:
  • 500+ Live CLE Webinars
  • National Hot Legal Topics
  • New Laws and Regulations
  • State Specific Programs
  • All Formats: Live, Replay, & On-Demand
Subscribe Today
Training 5 or more people?

Sign-up for a law firm subscription plan and each attorney in the firm receives free access to all CLE Programs

Program Summary

The U.S. Department of Justice has made clear that it is pursuing civil enforcement actions and criminal prosecution of alleged fraudsters exploiting the COVID-19 pandemic. Its civil enforcement efforts target a broad range of COVID-19 schemes, ranging from fraud under the Paycheck Protection Program to hawking fake testing and treatment scams. The DOJ has notched some early victories in recently filed cases using the fraud injunction statute, Title 18 of the U.S. Code, Section 1345, a hybrid civil-criminal statute that gives the government the power to seek injunctions to stop current or potential future violations of certain fraud-related laws and to freeze alleged fraudsters' assets before trial, including assets unrelated to alleged fraud. This program will provide an overview of Section 1345 and its use in fighting COVID-19 fraud.

This course is co-sponsored with myLawCLE.

Key topics to be discussed:

• History and expansion of 18 U.S.C. Section 1345, the fraud injunction statute
• The ability to use the fraud injunction statute to freeze assets
• The evolving standards for granting injunctions under the statute
• The hybrid civil-criminal structure of the fraud injunction statute

Date / Time: November 5, 2020

•   1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Eastern
•   12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Central
•   11:00 am - 12:00 pm Mountain
•   10:00 am - 11:00 am Pacific

Choose a format:

•   Live Video Broadcast/Re-Broadcast: Watch Program "live" in real-time, must sign-in and watch program on date and time set above. May ask questions during presentation via chat box. Qualifies for "live" CLE credit.
•   On-Demand Video: Access CLE 24/7 via on-demand library and watch program anytime. Qualifies for self-study CLE credit. On-demand versions are made available 24 hours after the original recording date and are view-able for up to one year. 
Closed-captioning available upon request

Speakers

Agenda